Copyright for FacultyLibrary Classes
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Nursing  Tags: nursing school_of_nursing apa health wellness  

A guide to nursing research
Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://washburn.libguides.com/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Why Articles?

Why should I use articles in researching nursing topics?

  1. A large proportion of information in the field of nursing is communicated via journal articles
  2. On average, journal articles are published rather quickly (9-20 months) as opposed to books which often take years
  3. Information is frequenlty reviewed by other experts (scholarly/peer-reviewed)

SCHOLARLY OR NOT?

What is a scholarly journal?

Answer: A journal that has been created by academic authors and includes original quantitative and/or qualitative research and theoretical content.

      Examples

  • Journal of Athletic Training
  • Harvard Educational Review
  • Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport 

What is a trade journal?

Answer: A journal that was created for professionals. The articles address professional or work-related issues and help practicioners by summarizing research for best practices.

      Examples:

  • Athletic Therapy Today
  • Training & Conditioning
  • Athletics Weekly   

Is my article scholarly?  

Use this checklist to evaluate your article. If in doubt, ask me!

      
     

    Nursing Databases

    Use the following databases to search and find scholalry or professional articles about nursing.

    • ProQuest Nursing Journals  
        
      Great database to begin researching nursing subjects! There are over 280 sources in this database, many which contain fulltext.
    • Sage Premier  
        
      This is a collection of 26 Nursing Journals and other medical-allied helath journals. Each of the 7,000+ articles listed here contain the complete fulltext. The Sage Premier collection also contains several other journals from other disciplines.
    • Cochrane Library  
        
      A set of databases which contain information on evidence based medicine such as systematic reviews.
    • Health Reference Center Academic  
        
      A large database which contains some fulltext, some abstracts and some citations to health information.
    • PubMed (includes MEDLINE)  
        
      Extremely large (governmental) database containing medical research. PubMed contains the 'Index Medicus', MEDLINE, and several other important health indexes. See below for help searching this database.
    • CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health  
        
      This index is the largest collection of nursing information. It contains nearly all nursing journal literature in the English Language.
     

    Need the Article?

    If you have an article citation, but need the ACTUAL ARTICLE itself, follow these directions to get it. We're here to help!


    Loading Video Clip...
     

    Searching PubMed (MEDLINE)

    1. Open PubMed
    2. Select the 'Limits' Tab
    3. Under the 'database subset' select 'MEDLINE'
    4. (optional) select 'Nursing'

    Searching PubMed Video Tutorial

    Play PUBMED video tutorial

    Another tutorial for the newly updated PubMed is available here:

    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/web_based.html 

     

    CRC Librarian

    Profile ImageHeather Smith-Collins, M.L.S.


    Contact Info:
    Curriculum Resources Center
    Carnegie 101, Washburn University
    Topeka, KS 66621
    (785) 670-1956
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    education, health physical education & exercise science, nursing

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait